Skip to content

Spinach Tortellini and A Big Zucchini

August 10, 2012

I’ve been trying to take advantage of my free time to take on some more ambitious cooking projects, so when I came upon some pasta recipes when flipping through a food magazine I decided it was time to pull out the roller. I chose a recipe for spinach tortellini with a three-cheese (ricotta, fontina, and parmesan) filling accompanied by a tomato garlic cream sauce.

Spinach Tortellini with Tomato Garlic Cream Sauce

It was delicious, but making it was quite a process. Every time I make dumplings I remember why I haven’t done it in so long. Making the pasta dough isn’t too bad, but the filling and sealing takes a while. Too much or too little water and the edges won’t seal. Too much filling and the pasta rips. I’m sure in 6 months or so I’ll forget and take on dumplings again. Until then I’ll be especially appreciative that I can get fantastic, fresh filled pastas from numerous shops and restaurants in NYC.

Tortellinis in Process

The next project was collecting zucchini recipes. My mom brought me a giant zucchini from her garden. So far I’ve used 3/4 of it, and I’m planning to cook the last bit on the grill tomorrow.

Big Zucchini

I started by making a variation on this potato and zucchini salad. I replaced the pepper with red onion, the marjoram with oregano, and the grill with the oven.

Potato and Zucchini Salad with Lemon Oregano Dressing

Next up I wanted to make something sweeter. I ended up making two different variations of this recipe for a non-traditional zucchini bread. I didn’t have enough poppy seeds or walnuts for the whole thing so I made a loaf with all the extras (though I replaced the crystalized ginger with a bit of ground ginger) and then made muffins with just the basics and some chocolate chips. The loaf turned out great- it tastes like a cross between zucchini bread and a lemon poppyseed muffin.  I’d like to make it again with the crystalized ginger and more walnuts. The muffins turned out fine, too, but they were a bit dry.

Duo of Zucchini Breads

I shredded more zucchini than I needed for the bread, so I used it in a stir fry for dinner tonight. Looking forward to gobbling up the last bit tomorrow!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

