Skip to content

Garden in a Jar: Sprouts

March 12, 2012
tags:

Growing sprouts is the easiest way I’ve found to grow food. They require very little space, time, and materials. Plus, since they’re grown inside, they can be grown in the winter and weather’s not a factor. I started some alfalfa seeds soaking on Monday night and the sprouts were ready to eat on Saturday morning. The only materials I needed were a jar, cheesecloth, and a rubber band. From Tuesday-Friday, I rinsed them once in the morning and once in the evening. When they were finished, I spread them out on a tray and put them out in the sun for 15 minutes. Then I rinsed them one last time and put them in the refrigerator. I started with 2 tablespoons of seeds, and I got more sprouts than I could fit in a quart size yogurt container. Not only are they easy to grow, but they are delicious and nutritious! They were a nice, crunchy addition to the sandwich I had for lunch.

In the Jar

On the Tray

Turkey, pepper jack, and sprouts on a bagel. Yum!

Leave a Reply

