Skip to content

Updates from the Kitchen and the Garden

March 6, 2012

I feel like I always say this, but it’s been a busy few weeks.  Here are some highlights from the kitchen and the garden.

We got a portable greenhouse (!) from Jeremy’s mom. I put it outside a couple of days ago to see how it worked and it was noticeably warmer inside. It has neat vents on the sides so you can adjust the amount of ventilation. I’m planning to start some lettuce under it this weekend.

Our first few seeds have sprouted: kale, bachelor buttons, and poppies. Luckily no tomatoes so far, though if the weather report for the end of this week is right, I expect we should be seeing some soon.

I started a new round of alfalfa sprouts. They need to be rinsed twice a day for about 4-5 days and we’re finally home for long enough to get them grown and eaten.

I used the grill! It’s easy to forget it’s out there, especially in the winter, but nothing inside comes close to the char you get on the grill. Unfortunately we’re still having some issues with getting things cooked. It takes a while to heat up and doesn’t seem to get quite as hot as it should. The chicken that cooked through was delicious, but I had to toss some pieces that weren’t quite done. This is the recipe I used: Asian Chicken Kabobs.

We bought and ate quite delicious and expensive cheese. The cheesemongers at DiBruno Bros. are good at their jobs. The cheese (Challerhocker) was great on its own, but we also got some dried figs that were delicious and they went well together.

We made a new salmon dish with asparagus. Here’s the recipe: Pan-fried Salmon with Citrus Vinaigrette. It was delicious, quick, and healthy.

When we went to Arthur Ave. a few weeks back, we got some ravioli from Borgatti’s Ravioli and Egg Noodles. We finally broke into the package and topped it with frozen pesto from the summer (which is still amazing). Freezing the pesto in ice cube trays was a great trick. It’s easy to pull out one or two cubes for defrosting.

We went to the Philadelphia Flower show where we saw an amazing wall of lettuce and bought more seeds. No, we didn’t really need any more…in fact we may not even have space for what we already had, but there were so many exciting options! The new acquisitions were eggplant, tatsoi, carrots, cilantro, dino kale, beets, and scallions.

I finally made farro! This has been on my list of things to cook for a while, but the only place I could find it was really expensive. I gave in and just went for it tonight. I used this recipe for Farro and Roasted Butternut Squash, which I found on 101cookbooks but also, oddly enough, on the back of the package of farro. It was one of my favorite meals I’ve made in a while. It didn’t even need the goat cheese on top (I tried it both ways).

I’m looking forward to having time to go to the market and work on the garden this weekend. The plan is to get some more seeds planted and start cleaning out last year’s containers.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Meredith permalink
    March 7, 2012 9:01 am

    I made the salmon dish too after I saw it on your pinterest. Turned out really good and was super easy. The farro looks really yummy as well – I’ll try it out! PS. The portable greenhouse is really cute. 🙂

    • March 7, 2012 8:40 pm

      Thanks! I’m glad the salmon was good. You should definitely try the farro.

Leave a Reply

