Skip to content

Cooking up a Storm

October 30, 2011

Yesterday was a perfect day for cooking. It is rare that I actually want to spend the whole day indoors. However, the short trip to the grocery store was wet and windy enough to convince me that I had made the right decision. On the menu were some old favorites and some new dishes I’d been hoping to try.

Lunch: Spinach hummus with cucumbers, chicken, sausage, and feta on pita.

Dinner- first course: Garlic soup with multigrain bread.

Dinner- main course: Pork chops with applesauce.

Dinner- side dish: Brussel sprouts.

Dessert: Pumpkin cheesecake.

Sunday breakfast: Apricot-Walnut Granola.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hummus is one of my favorite ways to use up leftover spinach. It adds a nice flavor, and I’m sure some nutrients to a good weekend snack. In addition, I can throw all the leftovers from the week (in this case chicken, sausage, and feta) on the hummus for a satisfying sandwich.

I’ve been wanting to make a garlic soup for about 11 years, and yet I haven’t gotten around to it. When I was 15, I had an amazing garlic soup at a small restaurant in Austria. Though this was a different sort of soup, it had some of the same qualities. It was very rich as a result of the eggs. If you try this recipe, make sure to cover the pot while it simmers. I failed to do this, and as a result I had to add a lot of water at the end. The bread (which is fantastic and amazingly fast) complimented the soup perfectly.

Jeremy has made applesauce before, but this was my first attempt. Macoun apples made for a delicious and beautiful final product. I was never been a huge fan of pork chops, but I think that may be because I didn’t eat them with heaps of homemade applesauce. I’ve been converted.

An early morning tweet from the greenmarket alerted me that brussel sprout season had begun. Previously I had only cooked them in the oven. I tried the skillet this time. They were good, but I think I should have cooked them a bit more. They didn’t have quite the crispy, browned quality they have when roasted.

The pumpkin cheesecake was decadent and delicious. The only problem is trying to resist eating all the leftovers. I’d imagine this problem won’t last long.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

