Skip to content

Ice Cream: Mint Chocolate Chip

October 2, 2011

A few months back I took some cuttings from the mint plant that we have growing on the balcony. I put them in bottles with water until they sprouted and then planted them in self-watering containers made from soda bottles. The cuttings grew so well that they were taking up all the available space at the window. I decided it was time to put it to use.

I’d had my eye on this recipe for mint chocolate chip ice cream from David Lebovitz’s website. Even though I felt like I had a ton of mint, I could tell it wasn’t going to be quite enough to reach the required two cups for the recipe. I supplemented my supply with some store-bought leaves.

The recipe was easy to follow, and the result is spectacular. I don’t think I’ll want to eat store bought mint chocolate chip for a while. I’ll have to plant a few more cuttings so I can grow a full two cups for another batch!

Here are some pictures of the process.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

