Skip to content

Beetles, Broccoli, and Basil

June 21, 2011

Pest of the day: Cucumber beetle. It looks like a yellow ladybug (I frantically killed it too quickly to take a picture but here is someone else’s photo: spotted cucumber beetle). Unfortunately they are the ladybug’s evil twin. I wish I had some ladybugs in the garden because it seems like they eat all kinds of pest eggs. Instead though, I had one cucumber beetle which could have brought a bacterial wilt for which there is no cure. Being that I have only seen one, I have hope that my cucumber plants may survive. After some research it seemed the best thing that I could do for now was to put aluminum foil around the stems. Now my cucumber plants look like they are trying to attract extra-terrestrial life. The idea is that it will light up the underside of the leaves to confuse the bugs and prevent baby beetles from traveling from the soil to the leaves. Not quite sure I understand the logic, but I decided to give it a try.

Fruit of the Day: Every day there seems to be a new problem but also exciting new growth. We have the first indication of future broccoli. Hopefully I’ll be able to hold off the cabbage worms for long enough to get a good crop.

Harvest of the day: Yesterday we made tomato, mozzarella, basil towers with delicious balsamic vinegar from a friend who has been living in Italy. With the rapid growth of the basil, we’ll still need to make pesto this week, but the salad was a nice change.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

