Skip to content

New question: What creature has been visiting?

June 18, 2011

I thought I had a pest problem with the aphids. Well now something much larger has been visiting. This morning I found a bucket of mesclun mix that had been dug into. There were piles of dirt next to the bucket and some of the plants were buried or uprooted. The creature was also hungry for radishes. It pulled out three, ate parts of two and left them scattered, and left the other one in the container. Some of the herbs on the table had been disturbed a bit. My guess is that a squirrel climbed over the railing onto the table and then looked around for a meal. Here are some pictures of the damage:

Destruction

Lunch

Suspected Footprints

On a positive note, the cucumber and beans are growing rapidly. Here is are some updated pictures of them.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara permalink
    June 19, 2011 9:53 am

    I too vote for squirrels. Lately, I have been sprinkling pepper on my tomato plants. That seems to be working. But, i have to reapply every couple of days – especially after a rain!

  2. Diana permalink
    June 20, 2011 9:58 am

    My money is on squirrels too. You can make a tea of garlic and hot pepper to spray on/around the plants. I’ve also had success with chicken wire “hats” as I call them, (roll chicken wire into a cone shape and set it on top of planter,) and Critter Ridder. It’s organic and comes in both spray and shaker.

  3. June 21, 2011 9:15 am

    Thanks for the ideas!

Leave a Reply

