Skip to content

Packable Dinners

June 27, 2012

My June courses were in the evening, so I’ve been packing dinners I can eat during class. I’ve found some good recipes that  can be eaten cold. I didn’t take many pictures since I was rushing out the door most afternoons, but here are links to the recipes I used and some notes.

Curried Chicken Salad with Yogurt I actually combined a bunch of different recipes, but this gets the main idea across. Jeremy doesn’t like mayo, so I was looking for a yogurt based chicken salad. I didn’t use the soy sauce or lemon and used golden raisins instead of dried cranberries. I really liked the inclusion of scallions.

Buttermilk Farro Salad with Radishes, Fennel, and Zucchini This was delicious. It has a great mixture of textures-the veggies are raw so they provide a great crunch. The dressing is tangy and fresh.

Pan-fried White Beans with Kale This was one of my favorites. Great mixture of flavors and texture.

Broccoli-Parmesan Fritters These were better when warm. I ate the leftovers for lunch with yogurt and lemon juice, and it was delicious.

Red-Rice Salad with Boiled Egg I think this would have been a bit better when warm, but I liked the unique combination of ingredients. It packed a lot in with lots of grain, veggies, and protein.  I didn’t use the macadamia nuts.

Zucchini and Almond Pasta Salad This was easy to put together and made for a hearty meal. I added white beans.

Radish, Pea, Arugula, Quinoa Salad This salad was light and flavorful. The radishes and arugula provided some bite and the peas provided nice sweetness to balance it out. I left out the beets because I was trying to use up radishes. I used frozen peas which worked well.

Red Rice Salad with Boiled Egg

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 27, 2012 9:54 am

    I love that red rice salad! I agree, I think it tastes better at least at room temperature. That quinoa salad sounds amazing, too. Definitely going on my to make list.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

